Norfolk Hares

This evening, Jon and I took Bracken out for a long walk around the village, and I took my camera, with my zoom. At last, we saw an owl, sitting on a post. But even with my zoom, which is modest but better than the one I had before, I could still only get a blurred image of my owl. It was still quite small, and when it took off to fly, it went away from us, and I got an even more blurry picture!

We proceeded around the village, towards a lane that goes out of the village towards - actually, I don't know where it goes. But I was fairly sure that along this road, in the middle of a farmers field, and hidden in woodland, are the remains of Gresham Castle. I must do more research before I start to tell you things. Anyway, I was looking for a way that we could get across to explore (when noone is looking, obviously!) There is a very deep, water filled ditch all the way along the field. It seems there is no way in - especially if I was planning something covert after dusk - I think we would end up wet, or injured. Or both! We discussed the idea of pole vaulting the ditch, or using a plank (my idea, but Jon pointed out there are no planks in country lanes....he has no imagination!) It needs more thought.

Back up Chequers Road and along the main high street, I spotted these two Hares. They sat, then ran a bit, then sat, then ran a bit more...you get the picture. My zoom still left me with fuzzy Hares (as opposed to fuzzy hair, which I have today) But I liked it. Jon said that Hares just live in fields like this. They don't go underground, in a burrow. They just make a dip in the ground and live in it with their babies. I like Hares.

Work was work. I have a lot going on in my head. I just try to do my best, and enough to keep the bosses happy, and then go home. Today it was a 9 to 5.30 day, and I got home at 6.30. My head aches and I am going to bed soon. I ache a lot from the digging yesterday. I will get back to my writing in a day or two. 

Jon goes off to Cambridge in the morning, and comes home Thursday evening, ready to go away again friday for the weekend with Scouts. I have some friends coming to see me Saturday, so looking forward to that. In the meantime....4 days of work. Woohoo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.