Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Good ol' boiler

Yesterday I moved the barbecue from the front shed to the back shed, in readiness for the imminent warm summer evenings...

The barbecue has wheels and a handle for ease of movement. But if you lift the front up more than a couple of inches, the whole jingbang topples backwards! And so, on several occasions, I had to lunge to grab it to avert the crash. Trouble is, I seem to have hurt my back doing such sudden, unusual manoeuvres (thanks predictive spelling). JR, on hearing the cries of anguish and indeed, bad words, came to assist. So I see that the weather is changing for the weekend. Rain. Hmmm.

Anne came to collect Archie, JR went to the gym, but I excused myself because of my sore back, and spent the morning out in the sun listening to my audiobook. Until, that is, a man with a very noisy machine started working on the pavement a few doors down.

Anne returned with Clement, one of her flatmates. Clement loves Archie, and is teaching him French. We sat in the sun, finding out what the young folk are up to. Elizabeth's parents passed by and he rushed out to greet them. He has so many friends! Today's photo was taken by Anne this morning in her flat, with her flatmates making a fuss of Archie.

In the afternoon Rufus and his mum popped in to report back about her Danube cruise last week. Sounded just splendid. Our cruise is coming up soon!

In the evening, Elizabeth came to babysit Archie while we went to a friend's for dinner. We would have left him with a nice peanut butter toy and he'd just snooze anyway, but he hasn't been well, and might have needed out. Elizabeth was happy to come and sit with him. And he was very happy too!

Boiler man came. It's an old boiler, but a goodie!
'It's in good nick for its age' he declared. I've never been jealous of an old boiler before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.