Life In Wales

By KarenC

Marc the Vet

My morning was taken up with a visit to Karin my lymphodema therapist and then I had to go for a chest x-ray and blood test.  Hopefully all routine, but I went to the doctors on Tuesday over my swollen Achilles and while I was there, we talked about some ongoing issues since my chemo and radiotherapy.  The Doctor I saw was a locum, and she was very good, spending about half an hour with me and arranged a thorough check.  She'll have the results in about a week and then I'm to go back to discuss them.

By the time I got out of the clinic it was 12.30pm, so I decided to postpone my swim until tomorrow as my friend Allana was due at 2.30pm.  Fortunately the sun came out just before she arrived with Lou, her King Charles Spaniel, so we were able to sit in the garden.  It got really hot and I had to move into the shade!

Then tonight I had to take Milou back to the see Marc the vet for a check up.  Marc is a 'celebrity ' and has appeared on numerous TV programmes including The Paul O'Grady Show, BBC Breakfast, ITV's This Morning, The Alan Titchmarsh Show, Its Me or the Dog, Crufts, Animal Rescue Live and a series on Sky One called My Pet Shame.

He's also written two books, campaigns for numerous animal welfare issues and against puppy farming, and lobbies MP's in Westminster.

That said, he's a nice guy and when we saw him last week for the first time, he came into the waiting room and picked Milou up and sat with him on his knee, stroking him before taking him into the surgery.  

He asked me to take Bobbie along today as he said it would be fun to see them both together, and after he'd checked Milou, he gave Bobbie the once over and clipped his claws - free of charge!  He then asked if I'd mind if he took their photo for his Twitter account, as every week he posts a photo of a dog and has a competition to guess the breed.  Next week, it'll be Bobbie and Milou.  I said it was fine as long as I could take his photo with the boys.  

He had them both eating out of his hands and you can see a picture of him taking their photo in my extras.

Anyway the good news is that Milou's ear is fine now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.