Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

The Hutch

The first day of the week is such a killer! I don't know how G goes off to school so happily.

Met up with her for lunch which again, was at The Mall. Well, the drink and coffee part was. Lunch was a sandwich eaten in the car as you're not allowed to take your own food into a mall to sit in the cool to eat it!! Found out over coffee (in this restaurant) that tomorrow, the Mall are having their grand opening, after being in business for a year! They were waiting for the supermarket to open. That happened two weeks ago.

And in the afternoon, I think I just may have got somewhere with my quest to open a bank account for the new company. Flabbergasted at the things that banks here expect from you - even a brand new startup; high minimum balances (£30K) to maintain and you get charged (quite a lot) just to have access to banking services! Unbelievable! There seems to be no end to how much an ordinary person gets fleeced.

And later in the evening, I discovered that even though the new Nokia Android phones haven't been officially launched here yet, they are on sale on our Amazon equivalent, so I ordered the Nokia 6! There are too many things I am missing out on because I can't have android apps on my Windows phone! Can't wait for Wednesday now. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.