Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Last Day...

Another very fun day with my parents on my last day out here in the Pacific Northwest. We decided to go back to Jackson Bottom Wetlands where we managed to get pretty well doused in a downpour. Still had lots of fun and enjoyed watching various birds, squirrels and chipmunks.

Thoroughly chilled, we tucked into Starbucks, then home for lunch. Fed and dry, we ventured out again in the afternoon to Tualatin River Nat'l. Wildlife Refuge. It was so windy I could barely keep my camera steady, but the upside was that headwinds slowed down the swallows just enough for me to get some decent flight shots.

This is one of hundreds of Cliff Swallows that were swooping over the wetlands hunting insects. This is not a species I've ever photographed or even seen reasonably close, so I was very happy to get some good shots. Cropped and some minor adjustments to exposure.

Other highlights of the afternoon were some good looks at a red-shafted Northern Flicker and a pair of bald eagles who flew right over our heads.

Lebanese food for dinner and we are now relaxing. Have to get up at an ungodly hour of the morning as my flight is at 7.

A Townsend's Chipmunk in Extra. A bit different than our Eastern chippies as the Townsend's have longer ears and less vivid stripes. Still just as cute, though.

Thanks for joining me in my adventures in OR.

Xo
Debbie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.