A welcome visitor

My second day of travelling to Leeds, and once again all went smoothly. I can now walk from the station to the University in about twenty minutes, which just gives me time for a cup of herb tea before giving my first lecture! Our fieldwork today was in a wood - very damp, but at least the rain stopped after we'd been there for about 15 minutes, and it was pleasantly warm.

I didn't really have time to take any photographs during the day and it was raining again when I walked back down to Leeds station. However. when I arrived home Pete thrust this lime-hawk moth towards me, the first to arrive in the trap this year. Last year we didn't see a single one, so it's good to know that they're still around. I love the subtle shades of green and peachy-brown on its wings, which provides very effective camouflage on moss-covered tree trunks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.