Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

In between

Freespiral's challenge this week for Derelict Sunday is from Cabins to Castles.  Crikey, hard to find either one of those in my neck of the woods so I went on a little exploration which took me to the back of buggery.  Oo, I hope I don't offend anyone with that - it's a saying here.  Perhaps I should have said back of Bourke which has a similar meaning.  Anyhoo, I did find a cabin, see extra, but on my way back from B******* I came across Morpeth Cemetery.  I saw this structure and it is something in between a cabin and a castle.  It is perhaps not too derelict.  I am wondering whether it was a gatehouse or something.  There is no other structure in the cemetery and apparently it has been in use for over 150 years.  I can see I will have to approach Morpeth museum to get some more details.  Stay tuned..... Oh and despite the number 18, it's actual address is 41 Butcher's Lane.

Not much else to report other than I can happily say the weather forecasters got it completely wrong and we had beautiful weather all weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.