THERE'S NOTHING QUITE LIKE THE SEA AIR!

Despite packing lots of warm clothes, because I didn’t really believe the weather forecast, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in South Devon to find the sun shining brightly.

After unpacking, we went out for Sunday lunch, and all had roast beef - boring people that we are - but it was cooked to perfection and because we are on our holidays, even had a pudding or as they say in these posh parts, a dessert!  We used to come here many years ago, when Julia and her husband first bought the house in Budleigh Salterton, and over lunch, relived many happy memories of our times together.

We then needed a gentle walk so headed up to the coastal path - where I took this photograph, looking along to the River Otter estuary.  Mr. HCB and our friend, Julia, obligingly walked on ahead so I asked if they would mind being my Blip today - they weren’t that enamoured, but as I pointed out to them, at least I wasn’t doing Derelict Sunday today!!  

If the weather stays like this, I may have to go out and buy some new summer tops, but that shouldn’t be any problem, as there seem to be quite a number of clothes shops here.  

We didn’t walk too far, so Mr. HCB and Julia have now gone off for another walk - my knees were aching so I decided that it might be best not to overdo it today, so that I am ready to walk more tomorrow.

We both feel better already and are looking forward to our time near the sea - it will be a real bonus if the sun shines all week - just a shame we forgot to pack our cozzies! 

“She loved the sea. 
She liked the sharp salty smell of the air, 
     and the vastness of the horizons 
          bounded only by a vault 
               of azure sky above. 
It made her feel small, 
     but free as well.” 
George R.R. Martin, A Storm of Swords

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.