An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Birthday Mum...

Backblip

Today you would have been 77.  Lucky for some you would have said :-)

I had a vague notion in my head that I wanted to blip something green today as it was your favourite colour.  I thought about a macro of the foliage on my peace lily (that I have managed to keep alive since March!  You must be looking out for it) but it didn't seem special enough.  I thought about the emerald in your lovely ring that I wear on special occasions but my camera just couldn't do it justice.  Time ran out in the morning so I had to put it on the back burner as Agnes was coming up and her, David and I were going out for lunch.

After another VERY nice lunch at Broadslap Farm Coffee shop (proper home made lasagne about 4 inches thick.  You would have approved) we finished off with a lovely slice of Victoria Sponge (extras)  and I could hear your voice saying, "where's oor Diane?" whilst you looked left and right and under the table before exclaiming, "There she's there!  Ahint* that slice o' Victoria sponge!"  It made me laugh out loud.   Agnes had two scones in your honour.  Oh yes, you would like this place.  

I had settled on blipping the Victoria sponge in your memory then when leaving Broadslap the uniform grey sky started to dance, clouds separated and a chink of light appeared somewhere in between, lighting up the fields and giving me the flash of green I'd been looking for. 

Thanks for the reminder that although you may have been gone almost 6 years, we are still a team xxx

Goodnight mum xxx

*Ahint - Scots word for behind
  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.