No more tears

Today I had a break through with the company that built my home and my garage issues are now being addressed.

The manager the guy at the council suggested I email was indeed the right bloke. He has apologised and has in turn appointed another manager to oversee the work.

The second manager picked me up from work at lunchtime and we drove out to my place so he could inspect the issues. Nothing is big or complicated, I've just been fobbed off with incompetence until today. He noted a few other small things and they'll be seen to as well. It will probably take a couple of weeks for him to get the various bits and pieces together and then it's a couple of days work.

Both managers have been at pains today to make sure that I'm ok. They haven't made excuses but they have explained what should have happened and what went wrong. I wouldn't want to be in the shoes of the idiot who thought he had solutions but didn't check with someone with a construction qualification, came onto property without my permission and carried out work, and fobbed me off because he was out of his depth. He's definitely had a bad day at the office.

I'll be reimbursed for the cost of the report I had done and I'm confident that now the correct work will be carried out according to the consent and building code.

This is a huge relief for me. I've tried to keep it in perspective but I knew they weren't being addressed correctly and that in the long term they'd be costly.

Sometimes things aren't done well or correctly in life. Often that is less important than the response to it. Today has gone a long way towards putting things right.

I had a tail wind for the 10km bike ride back to my car too. Happy days :-)

Today's gratitude: For these 2 blokes who have quickly got onto things and started to put things right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.