The symbol of remembrance

The awful tragedy in Manchester late last night has left almost everyone in a state of shock and bewilderment; unable to express in words what they feel and think about this terrible but ultimately pointless attack on innocent and mainly young vulnerable people.

Extremes of emotion flow through your mind, revulsion in that human beings could carry out such an act of sheer terror but also a sense of pride and confidence in the human race when ordinary people respond in extraordinary ways. I prefer to dwell on the latter emotions as the power of good will always prevail over the power of evil.

We have relatives who live near the city and regularly travel in. My son spent 4 years as a post-grad in the city. I've travelled there many times in recent years both to see my son and as part of my work. We're going again next week as part of my prison work. So I have a connection with the city. I've walked its streets and canals, visited its schools, been in its pubs and bars and so have a sense of affinity for the place. It will now be remembered for the bombings on 22nd May 2017 as much as for its other qualities.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.