Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Poppy

Despite having damaged my back yesterday afternoon, lifting birdseed I think, I spent three hours in the garden this morning; Voltarol seemed to sort out the problem, for a while.
 
I planted all the Lavenders I bought yesterday in the border down the left side of the lawn at the back of the house; there are at least a dozen Lavenders in that border, as well as lots of other small shrubs and bushes. I sorted out our two front window boxes, removing the bulbs ready for storing which will be planted in the Autumn. Then I replanting them with Busy Lizzies and trailing Lobelia; I like Busy Lizzies, they do not have to be deadheaded. I cleaned two tubs, which are placed one either side of the front door and planted them to match the window boxes; they also have a small fir tree in them. Then I planted the herbs, which I purchased yesterday, in the two pots, which are placed either side of the back door. I need to get some more herbs as I had not planned to plant them there and they do not completely fill the pots. I also planted two more pots, one either side to the entrance to the pergola. While I was outside, I weeded the two permanent large round brick borders at the front of the house, but did not manage to do anything with the main border, which looks rather untidy. I did not prune the roses when I should have done and they have grown into some very strange shapes, but they are full of buds, so they will be pruned later in the year. Then I decided that some of the house plants and cacti needed re-potting so I did those, before coming indoors to cook lunch. I now have lots of watering to do each day, but with some Miracle Grow they should look good all summer.
 
During the afternoon I did very little, but rested my back whilst trying to finish knitting a small baby blanket for charity.
 
I saw today’s picture early this morning, in one of the borders, which still has not been weeded this year! This is a wild Poppy, but I can see that there are some large cultivated Poppies growing in some of the other borders.

It has been hot all day, so hot that when I was gardening this morning I had to come indoors to get some sun cream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.