A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

The 'Moorhen Lake' Ballet

The Black Chicken Things babies are growing up in style. Their unmistakeable grey down is disappearing & is already being replaced by shiny black feathers & their beaks too are taking on a rich redness. Real stunners like their parents & older siblings.

After a late shift at Fawlty Towers last night largely thanks to a heard of golfers coming in at the eleventh hour, coupled with a beautifully early start this morning, finish this afternoon was a welcome relief. I saw the Moorhens playing in the garden, darting from under the tree, tempting me to go get the camera. I couldn't resist & took up my outpost spot in Jamie's room. There was a no show for a short while & I took a wander to kill some time. When I returned, to my joy, as I brought the camera up, mum & chicks came bolting down the garden towards the chicken hutch.

There was some shuffling about & then 3 were left on stage. It was a fantastic cast with some breathtaking individual skill on display, as can be seen by Moorhen Baby Dancer No.1 at the rear of the performing pack, the real star of the ensemble for sure.

'Great show. 5*.' - The Nightly Nana

Very lucky I got this shot I think, another baby had had a little stretch moments earlier & I wasn't quite sure what they were doing & whether I'd been mistaken. Very sweet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.