ONE FOR SORROW

Sad news.  Neil got in touch late late night to let me know that two friends of his girlfriend Rachael had been killed in the Manchester bombing.  They were on the missing list and of course it was hoped they would be found alive and well but it was not to be.  Chloe was 17 and Liam was 19 - childhood sweethearts looking forward to a happy future together. 

I was walking across the High Level Bridge this afternoon when I spotted a solitary magpie and I remembered the rhyme - " One for Sorrow".  Coincidentally the building where Rachael, Chloe and Liam all worked is just to the right of my shot. 

I was at the Theatre Royal again this afternoon.  Saw a comedy/farce called " Out Of Order.  Lots of familiar faces from TV were on stage including Arthur Bostrom.  You might not know the name but maybe you remember him as Officer Crabtree  in " Allo, Allo". An Englishman who pretended he was a French policeman but who couldn't speak French ------ " Gid Moaning" was one of his familiar expressions. The play was quite ridiculous with lots of comings and goings, a body in a cupboard, a scantily dressed young lady in the bathroom - you get the idea.  All good old fashioned fun. Takes your mind off the world outside.

Once outside it was back to reality - armed policemen wandering around town.  More police than I usually see and with machine guns too.  A sign of the times.  Reassuring - but  I wish it wasn't necessary.

The weather has been wonderful today - sunny and warm.  Not the sort of day for a visit to the theatre but I did have a good wander around town before and after the show.  I went to the opticians when I came out of the theatre to get my specs adjusted as they felt too tight.  They seem better now.

Steps today - 9,582

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.