Steller's Jay

This fellow was waiting to fly down to the feeder on our deck for his afternoon peanuts. I liked how he looked nestled in the greenery.

I walked to my friend Helen's for book club this morning. It was nice to walk. She lives no more than a mile away and mostly I can avoid the bigger roads. It was a lovely warm day so the walk was pleasant. As usual we ate yummy things for lunch and chatted constantly. I hadn't read the book but participated in the conversations anyhow. Nobody seemed to mind.

After, I walked back home and stopped to talk to my neighbor Chris. I told her about Arvin. She was very sweet about that. We also talked a bit about houses. She and her husband have been looking for a bit larger place with no luck. It is a moving seller's market right now and as fast as things come on the market they are snapped up. I love this location and briefly talked about swapping houses though I don't think that will happen. Theirs is a bit too small for me and has no garage or place for a studio. And most important, I am not ready right now. So it was really idle conversation but nice.

When I got home I spent some time on the deck and talked to two folks who came to the door. One was a cohort from the Alzheimer's group who wanted the information about Arvin's celebration. The second was my friend Carroll who had called and came by to talk. When she left it was dinner time and I made myself a mixture of left overs and soup I call Glop. It was quite good actually.

After that I took my third walk of the day down to Scudder Pond to see if the beavers were out. Just before I left for home one appeared. I was happy to see him or her. The mosquitos had also appeared and I came home with some added bumps from their bites. Those bugs can be fierce.

Tomorrow I'm going to the races with a group including my sister-in-law and maybe my brother Dave. He wasn't sure. It should be fun. Now it's time for maybe one TV show and bed. We take off early tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.