Restoration project...

..because of course, I need another project!

We are home now. We packed up the caravan this morning, Henry, Mollie and I took down the awning down while Jon delivered some bits to Daniel that he had left behind.

We left at 12.30, and with only one burger stop were home about 4.30. It is now the usual washing, clearing up, unpacking jobs that come after a weekend away, but it has been well worth it to see Daniel and our old friends, plus to spend time properly relaxing. 

The news that lovely John Noakes has died left me misty eyed this morning. He was one of my childhood favourites, and really was Blue Peter for me.

My picture is the old ercol table, which was my mum and dads first dining room table. Over the years it has been damaged and then professionally restored, then damaged again. I am the current owner and have decided to restore it. So far I have done one drop leaf, as you can see on the right. I've sanded it manually with 2 grades of sandpaper (that makes loads of mess) then polished it with our own bees wax. I am very pleased with the result. 

I have also decided to become a paid up member of blip. I don't go to any clubs or associations any more. This is my club; the place I chat to my friends, so I've decided to join. Now I can add extra photos! So the close up is of the old bit of un-restored table next to the bit I've done. You can really see the difference. Watch this space for a picture of the finished result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.