Summer is nearly here

I was up early, and on the road to Cambridge by 9, to spend the day with my friend Polly. The road was slow due to caravans....but I'm not complaining!! I arrived at 11, and we went straight out to the P & R at Newmarket Road.

We has a long day of browsing, and a few purchases. Eating, drinking, and even a brief visit to Cambridge's famous Strawberry Fair. It was a hot day, and buzzing with colour, music and lots of people.

Eventually returning to Burwell at about 5, we relaxed a bit in the sun. Polly and Richard are getting married in the summer, and they are busily gathering together everything they need for their big day. I had a viewing of the dress, which is stunning. We kept the bedroom door tightly closed when Polly tried it on. The wedding will take place on a Mediterranean cruise, so we won't be there, but I'm honoured to have a viewing in advance of photos.

At 6.30 I left for home. It was such a lovely evening I decided to go off the A11 & try to find my way home using road signs and my excellent sense of direction. Heading towards Dereham, I drove through Shipdham, one of the villages my nanna had grown up in. She lived in the mill, but it no longer exists. I passed through so many pretty places, then at Dereham headed towards Gressenhall and eventually through Guist & Thornage to Holt. In all the years I have been driving up here from Cambridge I've got to recognise a few of these roads; I like to vary my journey sometimes.

Home about 8.20. Without a blip photo, after such a busy day. So my beautiful clematis that is wrapped around it's best friend the hibiscus. Both transplanted from my old garden together;their roots intertwined. They both love this soil and have thrived. I hope the soil is as good up the road on our allotment. Speaking of which Jon has at last done his first blip, after much pestering from me. I think it might help him to develop a gardening business in our area, and showcase his skills. So if you want to take a look he is 'theRanger'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.