Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Life and Death

I awoke this morning to discover that a terrible disaster had occurred in the garden.  When I looked out the dining room window, the nest box with the tiny baby wrens was...gone.  I ran outside only to discover the steel pole bent completely over and the nest box laying open on the ground.  No babies anywhere.  They were only a few days old and so incredibly tiny.  And the only thing that could have bent the steel pole like that would have been a bear.  Seems doubly tragic to me that he did that only to get 7 tiny birds, each no bigger than my pinkie finger-tip.  Just broke my heart.

But I guess the good news is that the female who would have been brooding the babies last night, escaped.  And she and the male are already busy building a new nest in the back yard.  I watched the two of them making the rounds of available nest boxes this morning - he singing while she looked inside.  He's now hard at work bringing sticks into the nest and taking breaks each time for a exuberant song.  

While I am glad that they are starting a new nest so fast, I am concerned his second female who's six eggs hatched sometime in the last 48 hours is now going to be feeding those nestlings all by herself.  (See Extra for a blind-shot of the nestlings, taken with my phone.)  But, this is nature and there isn't anything I can do about it.  Thankfully, our temperatures are going to be in the 70's and 80's through early next week, so there should be a plentiful supply of insects and spiders.  

What a way to start the day.  I feel terrible even though I know there is nothing I could have done to prevent this.  Because I needed to get my mind off it, Hubs and I went over and joined MIL for lunch today.  She had me laughing in no time and I came back feeling in much better spirits.  

And tomorrow morning, bright and early, I'm off to Florida, leaving Hubs in charge of the Bistro and Nursery.  By the time I get home, I expect to see fledgling downy woodpeckers, cardinals and maybe titmice.  

Thank you, as always, for taking the time to visit my journal.

xo
Debbi 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.