Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Newlands Corner

I woke up feeling inspired to go out and take some photos today, and decided to go to Newlands Corner which has beautiful far reaching views. It is part of the North Downs and is a very popular spot for walking and cycling, and is considered one of the most scenic spots in Surrey. It was also where Agatha Christie's car was found when she disappeared in 1926, and was feared dead - until she turned up in a hotel in Harrogate a few days later, having checked in under an alias!

I had a vision in my head of the kind of shot I wanted to take and it did not happen - the light was horrible, too harsh and sunny (I got there too late to catch the good light) and it horribly windy. I took some long exposure shots to show the movement in the grasses resulting from that extremely strong wind, but I found the results too mushy for my liking (see extra) - so instead we have just an ordinary view of the valley. I also was stuck behind tractors and selfish cyclists who hog the road as they cycle four abreast so by the time I got home I was very irritated!

I then spent about an hour on the phone with Luke helping him choose accommodation in Paris - both of us looking at the same website at the same time and discussing each option - we have found some good choices which he has applied for and now he waits to hear. Adam finished exams today - he said he has never written such a set of difficult and intense exams in his life before - when he came out of his last exam he was showered with bubbly (cava, not champagne!) as is the tradition - I think it's a wonderful idea to walk out and face all your friends cheering and spraying you with bubbly, and I imagine one are so relieved to be finished that you do not mind getting all sticky and wet!

I am really enjoying the commentary and feedback post election - it has been so interesting and I find I am glued to radio interviews and TV reports. I had such a chuckle at The News Quiz on Radio 4 which was mostly about the election this week (sure many of you listened to it). If you missed it here is the link from iPlayer. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.