Great North Swim

Saturday 10th June 2017 (1750)

Time to leave LPH. Sad to say goodbye to the group. I had to leave a little early as I had entered the Great North Swim. A good drive down but parking was a problem and I then had approx a one and three quarter mile walk to the start, trouble was it was pouring with rain, the weather was atrocious. I was soaked by the time I got there and cutting it a bit fine.

I met up with Phil and Jen (my nephew and his wife). Jen had already completed the half mile swim. Phil and I were booked for the 11.30am one mile. My tactic was to start at the back and not be bothered by other swimmers. I quickly made friends with the back marker man in the kayak as I knew he would be with me all the way. I really struggled with the waves and the cross wind. At the half way point I was on time to match my Loch Lomond time but the return journey was hard work as it was in to the wind with the waves head on and pushing me backwards. The course stretched from the boats on the left, diagonally almost to the tree in the distance (you can see the buoys) and back again.

To say I was slow was an understatement and the longer I took the more tired and cold I got. I could hardly stand when I got out and I've never been so pleased to see dry land (except perhaps in Loch Lomond!). My check in time was a massive 1hr 59 mins and 40 secs! I think you can shave a few minutes off that for the time it took me to stand up and walk to the check-in point. Anyway, it is not a race, it is the taking part and finishing that counts. 

I did have an OCD moment when I discovered the medals were square. I am trying to collect the set of five. The other three are all round! 

Oh, and I have also raised approx £600 for Alder Hey Children's Charity.

After changing we had the long walk back to the car and then went for a well earned meal together.  I am now back home for the evening so that I can get all the wet and dirty washing in the machine and repack my case with a new set of clothes because for the next few days it is Christmas again! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.