Checking the bees, East Runton

This is Jon with his friend Karen, checking the bees. They are now sited on Karen's very beautiful and flourishing allotment, in East Runton. It is the first time I have been down to see them, but as I don't have one of those fetching outfits (that makes them both look like they are auditioning for a part in the next Dr Who series!) I had to take shelter in the shed, from which I took loads of photos. Some better than others, as the window was not very clean, and a small fruit tree was in my way. I was pleased with this one though, for the detail in the honey frame. He put a new honey super on a few weeks ago, and he wanted to see if the bees had started to use it. They are, and there is lots of honey in the one below, shown here. It really was interesting.

We were home about 2 o'clock. Karen gave me a couple of tomato plants to rescue, which were surplus to her requirements, plus some chilli plants.

After a late lunch, we loaded the car with spades, rakes and lots of water, and drove down to our allotment. Our expanse of thistle, dock and grass, baked into the clay infused soil. So the real work began. With me taking the big rake, and Jon and Henry spades, we started work. It was still pretty hot, but we worked solidly for nearly 2 hours. The boys dug a stretch, half the width of the allotment and about 4 feet wide, plucking out the largest roots as they went. We plan to go back with forks to work on that one area. We will need to cover it, to stop rabbits and deer, but I aim to get something planted by next weekend!

Extra photos show our efforts. Back home, and after a brief cup of tea, I cooked a thai green chicken curry, then had a lovely bath. 

Feeling tired, but very satisfied with our very busy, but productive weekend. And no headache...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.