A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Tiny Kiwi

Was going to look to the garden again for today's blip. Still lots of birds at the feeders, a male and female Bullfinch at the back garden feeder for the first time, they are usually only seen at the front. A Robin, Goldfinches and something I couldn't identify, like a Siskin but no sign of green. Also a pigeon has again managed to reach one of the feeders!

This is a bird of a different kind. When I saw Tiny Tuesday was everyday household things I thought of my little Kiwi. Maybe not the obvious household item but it is in my house, it is tiny and I see it everyday.

I bought it in 2013 in Franz Josef, New Zealand. It is made of the famous green stone (sometimes known as NZ jade) and is only 2cm tall and 2.5 cm wide. The greenstone is so expensive it's as big as I could afford!
It is sitting on a piece of stone found on Hokitika beach which also looked quite green when it was wet and is normally seen here on my stone fireplace mantel with a glass Koru I bought in the Container city in Christchurch.

I've tweaked it a bit to lighten it so you can see the detail of the carving. You can also see the translucence on the beak and legs. It's a precious little item to me.

(I only see these challenges by accident when another blipper posts them, I've looked under Challenges on the Activities area of the site but not found them. Anyone know where I should look?)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.