Running on Empty

After yesterday’s outing with the Ospreys and the afternoon spent sorting through images, followed by a late dinner with friends, I am quite exhausted today.  In addition, the temperatures are in the 90’s so I only made one brief outing into the yard and found these tiny long legged flies swarming around the tall hibiscus plants.  The arms needed a break from the long-lens after yesterday so a macro shot was just what I needed. If you have time to look in large, you can actually see the eye facets. 

There are about 7000 long-legged fly species in the world with 1300 species in North America. This is the best ID I have.  They are only about 1/4 inch long. They have been around for 65-144 billion years and had a “tendency to wander into and get stuck in amber.” 

Thank you all for the comments, stars and hearts for my little Osprey chick posing for the camera.  I don’t think I will come down from the “high” of yesterday for a while.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.