Cyclists

We were all a bit weary this morning, but we all made breakfast at 8.30am, and then chose our activity for the morning.  I thought I wouldn’t be able to move this morning, so was pleasantly surprised that I felt so good, so TT and I chose to kayak – again.  BB chose wind surfing.  Once we were kitted up, we went our separate ways – we to get our kayak, and BB to get his windsurf gear.

Having barely got to grips with the kayak yesterday, today we were in touring kayaks.  I felt much less stable, but got the hang of it, though I was miles behind everyone again as we set off up the loch.  I really struggled too, when the wind got really gusty and was taking me in a direction I didn’t want to go.  With the help of our instructor I got back on the straight and narrow and we kayaked round an island which is the home to beavers.  We had already seen the lodge yesterday from our canoe trip, but the rest of the group hadn’t seen it.  It was really interesting to get quite close.

My arms were feeling quite tired by the time we got back to base, and I was glad to have a rest and some lunch.  After lunch BB, TT and I went out on mountain bikes.  It was warm, but the rain came on when we were about two thirds into our journey.  BB did really well, especially as he is not a very confident cyclist – having an instructor with us helped.

It was good to get back and get our wet gear off and to have some tea, before we packed up and headed home.

We were all very tired when we got home but the washing machine had to go on straight away.  BB can’t wait to go back for another weekend of activities.

Yesterday we canoed under this bridge, today we cycled over it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.