Canoeing

TT was up early to head out for a run up a hill.  I preferred to stay in my bed, and BB was still fast asleep.  However, we were all up and ready for breakfast at 8.30am as the boys were looking forward to their cooked breakfast.  After breakfast we all assembled to choose our activity for the morning. We three all chose kayaking.  TT had kayaked before, BB and I hadn’t. 

Kayaking, in fact any water sport, is completely outside my comfort zone.  We got kitted up, had a talk from the instructor and then we were in the water.  BB took to it like a  duck to water.  Me, less so! I guess my biggest fear was that I was going to capsize the kayak – I’m pleased to say I didn’t.  BB and TT were off with the main group, while I was trailing miles behind with an instructor, who was extremely patient.

By the end of the session I was feeling much more confident and was managing to keep up with the group, chat and paddle all at the same time.  When we got back to the harbour, there was a game of kayak football.  I steered clear, as that seemed like a certain route to capsizing – as was demonstrated by BB and another lad!

After lunch we had to choose another activity.  BB chose stand up paddle boarding, while TT and I canoed to Killin.  Having conquered my fear of the water – the canoe felt much more stable and safe and I enjoyed it.  Although we had a few rain showers, the sunshine dominated and it was very calm and warm. We “parked” our canoes and went to the coffee shop, before retrieving our canoes and paddling back.  My arms were definitely feeling tired by the time we got back – but it was a lovely way to spend the afternoon.

We had a lovely evening – a party to celebrate a retiral and just because we probably hadn’t had enough exercise, there was a ceilidh to round the day off.  We went to bed tired and weary, after a wonderful day.

Here we are paddling down the River Lochay, under the old railway bridge at Killin before heading back to Loch Tay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.