Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Female Hooded Oriole

Just posted a shot of my little guy as yesterday's blip.

I know, doesn't look like an oriole.  It's a female Hooded oriole.  I barely missed the Mister with her on the feeder.  Now that  would have been a cool shot.  I haven't seen many around but maybe that's because I ran out of oranges and haven't been to a store in a couple of weeks.

One thing I've never noticed about these birds is that her jaw (do birds have jaws?) is silver.  Then the bill turns black.  Perhaps it's because I never shot one panting in the heat which unmasked it.

Is it just me or has anyone noticed the site being a little "jumpy"?  For at least a week, I have been having difficulty posting blips because the thing disappears when I try to geolocate it (which I do every day) or edit a section . Even the map pops open way too wide when I click to locate.  It's quite frustrating.  Damn, it just did it to me now when I tried to edit.  I had the foresight to copy it before it happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.