Just a Minute

I had a fabulous day out in London today because finally - after years of applying - I got tickets to go and see a recording of Radio 4's Just a Minute.  Annoyingly it was a daytime recording so Mr K couldn't come with me. 
After dropping off the little Misses I carried on to the train station in Milton Keynes, parked right at the top of the multi-storey and pausing only to text Mr K the location code of my parking so he could pay for it jumped onto the train and was on my way!
As we got to the outskirts of London I could see smoke billowing from Grenfell Tower and was struck again by the horror of it. Twenty four floors destroyed in half an hour. Homes, lives, memories. Children being thrown out of windows, people waving torches and blankets from windows surely knowing there was no hope of rescue. Horrific.
It was a glorious day and I loved walking down from Euston to Broadcasting House. It seemed unimaginable that there was so horror just a few miles away.
I sat in the sun outside Pret with a cup of tea and then went to get my ticket validated and sat in the BBC cafe in Broadcasting House. It overlooks the newsroom and it's fascinating watching them all beavering away at whatever it is they do and watch a live business report being filmed and aired on the many screens around the cafe walls.
Soon it was time to go into the Radio Theatre for the show. Nicholas Parsons was amazing - so great to see him in real life!! The panel was Tony Hawks, Shelia Hancock, Phil Jupitus and Jenny Eclair. The first two were brilliant - quick, witty and very entertaining. The last two were a bit rubbish less brilliant. Phil Jupitus barely said a word and Jenny Eclair was a either very dim or pretending to be very dim which grated after a while. For any Just a Minute fans reading this the episodes will be aired in August and there's a running joke through both about the location of the Colosseum. Jenny Eclair thought it was in Athens.......
I hadn't realised that they'd be recording two episodes so it went on longer than I was expecting and there was no time for anything other than walking back up to Euston and getting the train back in time to pick up the Little Misses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.