The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Figs will ripen on the lane

Temperature records have been broken. Hottest June day in the UK since 1976. In 1976 I was living in Scotland, and the heatwave there started in August. No complaints, mind, it was brilliant. Today was one for seeking shelter in places with AC.

After nursery (AC, because it used to be a computer room) I went to the cinema (AC) to see My Cousin Rachel. While I enjoyed the sweeping landscape shots, I felt the film as a whole had been over-Poldarked, and far too many lingering profile shots were used. Give me the slow  suspenseful build up of the  book any day! And please, don't trample the bluebells! Even if it is your birthday, Phillip.


After a quick flick around the shops, where I discovered that everywhere had sold out of paddling pools, I plodded home and have spent the entire evening wilting on the sofa, because we haven't got AC at home. Managed to spot this beautiful fig tree in the lane on the way home, and saw a small fruit emerging. Not up to Portuguese standards ( I've holidayed twice in the village of Figueira/Fig Tree) but shaping up beautifully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.