The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Sorted!

I slept in the sitting room.last night because of the heat. Morning broke, overcast with a little breeze that was most welcome.

A short while after I got up, I heard a commotion and went into the dining room, where Steve was holding Bomble the cat in his arms, while a small bird flew around the room. A young nuthatch had flown in through the open door. I took Bomble upstairs, and swiftly fetched a box with a lid. Steve managed to catch the bird in the box and release it. A few moments later, it had flown away, seemingly none the worse for wear.

Then the Utilities Warehouse consultant came around. Poor lady, I had invited her because we are paying over the odds for our bills, and that affects me greatly, but we were plagued with interruptions and indecision. Eventually after numerous cups of tea, coffee, water, herbal tea, toast, etc, she left, having signed us up for an all singing, all dancing package, including a brand new mobile for CleanSteve! The process had only taken several hours.

Still, I am glad it's done. I took this shot of our back step and its current incumbents, before scurrying to the postbox to send some birthday cards. Like London buses, birthdays seem to come in threes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.