Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Leftovers For Dinner

My birdies love their oranges and this Gila woodpecker is no exception. (I love when I catch a peek at their tongues!) It's pretty shaded in my yard by late afternoon and it  was hoppin' out there today, despite it still being over triple digits!  There was still a tad of the fruit left in the suet feeder but I put another orange out, hopefully to last until dusk. I've been home all day so I've been able to keep them in fresh water and nectar, too.

I will have to mix up more of the sweet stuff for the next few days.  With these temperatures, I have to switch out those feeders daily so I'm only putting 4-5 ounces in each.  I have to watch out for fermentation and I certainly can't have any inebriated birds flitting about!

It's been nice to have a quiet, relaxing day by myself.  I've been binge watching Death in Paradise  and The Dr. Blake Mysteries  on Netflix and getting caught up on some straightening and laundry.

Happy weekend to all!  x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.