Missycat

By Missycat

A Small Skipper

   This morning I went out  for our usual Sunday  walk with Zeus09smum and Zeus.  Once again it was warm but not so sunny.  The clouds were dark at times, with the promise of rain but it never came.  By early evening the skies were almost completely blue, so it was back to the sprinkler and watering cans in the garden.
Conditions for photography were not so good for the second day running with variable light and quite a breeze, but we did chance upon this little butterfly (dozens of them actually) sitting on birds-foot trefoil, who was prepared to stay still long enough for us to photograph.  After much searching online when I got home, I believe I'm right in identifying it as a Small Skipper.  The wild flower that it's sitting on we always called 'Eggs and Bacon' when I was a child. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.