Uk's ugliest bathroom?

Had to get up early this morning to eat breakfast.  I had my appointment at the hospital  for an ultrasound scan at 1.15pm and you aren't allowed to eat for 6 hrs beforehand. Later on I had to drink 3 glasses of water. Yuk. ( I hate water )

Walked down to the village to catch the bus to the hospital.  Once inside trying to find Orange Zone 2 wasn't easy ( well not for me as I have no sense of direction ).  Someone took pity on me and pointed me in the right direction. So the ultrasound scans have been done and I see my GP next week for the results. 

Got the bus home to the village did some shopping in Tesco and came home.  Decided not to go to Slimming Club.  Only need to weigh in once a month now I'm a target member.

The " Cat Sitter " lady can't come tomorrow as she has a virus and has lost her voice so we have rearranged and she will now come next week.  So I have an extra week to tidy up.  That's good news.

Dollykgray is hosting Mono Monday and her theme today is '15 Minutes of Fame', a phrase attributed to artist, Andy Warhol.  She says ....  " I would love to hear about your '15 Minutes of Fame', be it in the newspaper, TV, photobomb or your shining moment at a presentation, conference or exhibition." .

Well the only thing I can come up with is when I entered a competition online to win a new bathroom.  You had to send in a photo of your bathroom to enter a competition to find " The UK's Worst Bathroom ".  My bathroom ( at that time ) was terrible.  The bath, sink and wall tiles were brown.  The toilet didn't match as it was white - it  had recently been replaced. There was nothing in there I liked but I had been putting off getting a new one.  So I thought it was worth trying to win one.  I actually got through to the final 6 and photos of each bathroom were put online for people to vote.  Then it all got a bit silly.  Allegations of vote rigging - multiple votes from the same people etc.  One particular entrant kept having his total votes reduced when they found out some irregularities.  We could follow the votes online underneath each entry so we could see how we were doing.  The organisers said we were allowed to contact the local press to try and get votes from our local area so I got in touch with our local newspaper.  A photographer/reporter from the Sunday Sun came out to see me and he took some photos and asked me a few questions.  I am blipping the article and photo as they appeared in the edition for Feb 20th 2011.  The photographer told me to look " fed up " in the shot.

I the end I didn't win but I did get a voucher to spend at a posh bathroom shop.  However there were complications in redeeming this voucher so I was allowed to choose something from another website and I ordered a very nice oak bedside table.  It sits next to my computer and holds my printer. I eventually got my bathroom replaced in 2014 - and its gorgeous.

Today would have been my Mam's 92nd birthday.  She sadly passed away in 1981 at the young age of 56.  Connie Warneford - never forgotten.

Steps today - 10,701 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.