Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Red Lily

I don't often see red lilies like this, they are the most beautiful deep burgundy colour and therefore quite unusual I think. The only good thing about having house viewings is that we always have flowers in the house! Gavin bought these and I think they are lovely. This was photographed in natural light but I am not sure it shows that lovely red colour well enough.

I won't bore you with details about my busy day - there do not seem to be enough hours in the day lately. As I am out tonight and am leaving home early again tomorrow morning, I had to prepare my food for tomorrow's picnic lunch at school today. I have just finished making a Jamie Oliver potato salad with crispy pancetta, it seems light as no mayonnaise was used but rather fat free plain yoghurt with a bit or sour cream. I also made a different quinoa salad to the one I had for lunch yesterday, this one is a Mary Berry recipe and it has pomegranate seeds, feta, peppadews (sweet piquanté peppers grown in South Africa) and herbs added to the quinoa. They both look good so I hope they taste good too!

I am about to leave to go to the school to drop off the gazebo and chairs so that the boys can set it up for me, and then we are attending the Leaver's Concert, which is a concert of such high standard which I really look forward to each year - it is always wonderful to see how the musicians have grown in ability from when they first started at the school to this final moment on the eve of their departure (when Luke and Adam played in this concert there were a few tears...). This is followed by a governors' dinner so it will be a late night - and then an early start tomorrow morning to get to the final chapel service.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.