Mad

I was mad this morning when I went to unpack the lathe.
It didn't take much.
The 'packaging' was more or less laid on top of it and after taking off the bubblewrap and putting it on the bench I found that there was damage to  the belt access door - the motor lifting lever - the power plug ..... and most serious - the drive locking pin.

I thought I would try phoning the Edinburgh depot of TNT first ..... always up for a laugh!
Amazingly, I got an answer.
Without evening having to give my name or address (caller ID of some sort I would say) the woman knew who I was and that the lathe had been delivered by somebody on their way home and that the driver who should have delivered it had given a false phone number (the are looking into that apparently).
I got the feeling she was almost waiting for my call.
I was told I had to contact the supplier, ask them to send a replacement and have them collect the damaged item as there was nothing else they could do with their systems being down.
I didn't see that working very well.

However, I phoned a very nice lady at Axminster who was more than helpful and less than pleased with TNT .... especially when I told her that I had found the sealed plastic envelope on the packaging with the delivery address and receipt (the ones that are impossible to get into) had been cut open with a sharp blade.

I suspect that the driver has dropped the lathe, had a look to see how much the thing worth worth, gave a bogus phone number and buggered off home and will never be seen at TNT again.

The lathe will be collected by Axminster on Tuesday!
God knows when I will see it again.

The wee foxgloves were fair dancing in the wind this afternoon.
I am amazed I got anything in focus - especially as the lens was set to f1.7.
I ended up with them all in focus! - which is better than I managed with Haggis - who was in a real quandry .......... he loves having his ears rubbed but hates having his picture taken so he was trying to turn his head but still keep his ear in my hand.
Mad!

I took those shots when SWMBO and I dropped in to see the usual suspects who are back from their extended tour round Ireland in their camper van.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.