SY Gondola

I’m disappointed to be posting a picture of this fine steam yacht. I had hoped to give you another dynamic landscape to follow yesterday’s which you’ve put on page 3 of the populars when I last looked. Thank you for all the stars, hearts and the lovely comments on that.
 
A couple of years ago I posted a picture of Kelly Hall Tarn. I was quite pleased with it depite it being taken in the pouring rain. With the lovely weather we’re having today I thought it would be great to go back there at around sunset time and get a shot in good weather.
 
As I said, it’s been a lovely day right up until 4 o’clock when it started to drizzle. It progressed to full blown rain and has been hammering down since. I’ve been there and done that so no point in repeating it. Never mind, maybe tomorrow although it won’t be a sunset because there’s somewhere I need to be.
   
Anyway, I walked along the shore to the landing stages and had a coffee in the lovely Bluebird Cafe. The landing stages were a complete contrast to when I was there the other evening and almost completely alone. Today the place was heaving with folk setting up gazebos and windreaks for their picnics. Ther were rowing boats and canoes for hire and lots of people waiting for the launches. After my coffee I walked a little further up the bank to get a shot of the activity.

As I was taking the shot I heard the 'toot' of a steam whistle. I looked round and was surprised to see this beautiful steam yacht come into view. I'd heard of The Gondola but hadn't realised it was a beautifully restored Victorian Steam Yacht operated by the National Trust. A wonderful sight!

There are a few more from today and others from this trip in an album here if you'd like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.