Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Runaround

I had a quick trip to Dubai Mall in the evening... to get something sorted at the new bank for the business. Long story, but I needed to set up internet banking, and had to visit my branch (open till 9pm as it is in a mall). Got there and got to the desk only to be told that I needed to visit another branch to do what I needed. Funny that the lady on phone banking sent me there. Oh well. Such is customer service in Dubai...

On a happier note, the man who took the washing machine away told me how much it would cost to get it working again. Way too much to spend, so I was recommended to get a new one. I went down to the local hypermarket and asked which supplier of the machines on display could deliver today. None; the normal delivery time is 2 days, at a push, they could arrange for tomorrow. Bah!

I went to Carrefour, only to be told the same thing (without the possibility of tomorrow), so took a load to Pauline's to get washed, and then went back to the hypermarket to see if I could maybe get a machine by tomorrow. There was a different salesman - smart guy. He picked up on how desperately I wanted a machine yesterday, so asked how I felt about getting a display piece. They could deliver one later in the afternoon. WELL... a Whirlpool at 999 dirhams by 6pm. No guesses for what I did!

And they were quite amazing, because it was actually in place by 3:50pm and by 6, the initial test wash had been done. There you go. Set up by yours truly even. I had to remove four large bolts.

And I *think* I have done all the shopping I need, and as the cleaner was in today, I can bring my case down and start packing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.