A Gathering of Llamas

There is a joke that goes something like this: Pennsylvania has just two seasons, winter and road construction. I can definitely confirm it is true that summer is the time for road work around here.

Have you heard that old saying, "You can't get there from here?" I have! It's not actually quite true. You can get there - probably, anyway - but you might sit in construction traffic for a while.

When I drove to work on Wednesday morning on route 550, the construction folks were putting out those orange traffic cones that can only mean one thing: road work! So I resolved to take "the back way" to and from work for several days, maybe even a week or more, as long as it takes.

Although "the back way" takes about 10 minutes longer, it is a fine rural drive. One of the most delightful things about it is that I get to pass by the llama farm on Marengo Road twice a day.

When I drove by on my way home Thursday evening, this is the sight that awaited me: a gathering of llamas. I drove past, grinning, and then I did the thing I HAD to do, of course: I stopped for a few quick photos!

The llamas were very curious about me, and they all looked right at me as I approached them and snapped a few pictures. I like the way llamas look. Their faces are very open and friendly.

I was told by a friend that if you hum at them, llamas will hum back. Maybe I'll try that next time. Any special requests as to what tune the llamas and I should try humming together?

The tune that this image suggested to me is this one: John Lennon/The Beatles, with Come Together.

Bonus: prior blips from this very same llama farm:
Llama Surprise!
Llamas, Party of Ten, Please
Llama!
When You're A Jet . . .
Llama Kerfuffle


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.