Red Squirrel Walk

Yesterday I decided that if today's weather was half decent I'd go to Formby to the Red Squirrel Walk - it was, and so I did;  traffic was quiet and it took me just under an hour and a half to get there.  I went at exactly the right time as when I arrived there were only another half a dozen cars there and for those first couple of hours I felt as if I had the place to myself.

I met another couple of photographers who had travelled up from Oxford and at the time I was speaking to them hadn't had much luck as regards photos.  Luckily I had a bag of peanuts in the car, (I usually have peanuts, mealworms and suet pellets) -  all handy for when I visit the bird hide.  Anyway, it only took one of them to realise I had peanuts and the whole family came down to see me, fighting and squealing amongst themselves in their effort to bag what nuts they could.

When I'd had enough of blipping squirrels I walked the short way to the beach, which today was particularly beautiful with tons of soft white sand and the bluest sea and sky I've seen in a longs time.  Back to the carpark for a bacon sandwich and a cup of tea and then back home - a great way to spend Saturday.

Thank you for the lovely comments as regards yesterday's FF entry;  I think it's a super plant and so useful, and now due to FF I know it's name too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.