Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A trip into the past

Today started with a Walking Festival Committee meeting. All is going well with our preparations for the October Festival.

I was at home this afternoon and then donned my glad rags for an evening out with Catton WI. My walking friend, Ann, had organised a charabanc trip and everyone was invited to dress in 50s clothes.

It was a lovely evening and the driver took us up hill and down dale from Catton, via Allendale and to Alston. Here we stopped at the South Tyne Railway to hear about all the exciting developments there. We also visited The Hub, a museum in a shed and packed with 20th century memorabilia. I enjoyed seeing a poss tub and remembering that my Auntie Ethel had one for her washing.

Our next stop was at Nenthead to visit the miniature village in Lawson Robinson's garden. (I've been there a few times with the walkers.)

Finally, we arrived at The Allendale Inn for a superb cold buffet. Here you see most of the participants in front of the bus. (A few were hiding........)

I stayed over at Ann and Al's in Catton, which is why this is a back blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.