The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Stonehouse Baptist church

Gail and I went to visit this church today. I am a lapsed Catholic, and she's a lapsed Christian Scientist. This having been said, the pastor of the church had been most welcoming when we posted on Facebook that our WEA educational group was looking for a venue.

It is a very lovely venue, most comfortable, BUT at the eleventh hour, the venue that had previously rejected us, came back to us with a very good offer! So Gail and I went back to the previous venue to have a look at the bigger room. We haven't decided anything yet.

However, the situation does remind me of a quote that the WEA tutor was urging us to remember last week, in the context of a painting. I could only remember the Bob Marley version: "The stone that the builder refused has become the head cornerstone". Not that our group has any God-like powers, but it seems that the venue that was willing to chuck us out a week or so ago, is now realising that our rent might be quite useful after all!

The rest of the day it rained. Gail and I went to Sainsbury's. I came home and did emails and business admin (we're changing over our utilities and everyone seems keen to keep charging us, even after we've left!) with half an eye on the time, because I had to go into nursery for a CPD training at 3.45. When I got there, the staff and children were just arriving back from a trip. After about a quarter an hour, the CPD trainer came and said she'd have to cancel. I was in the middle of making drinks for all the staff, but I just poured mine away and decided to walk, because there was no one who could have given me a lift home for ages! It did feel as if my efforts had been in vain. I should have trusted my gut feeling that this training was in fact never going to happen.

Now CleanSteve has gone off to spend the night in a barn in Wiltshire, and I am wondering which documentary to watch on Netflix. We've cancelled, but have another 21 days to watch. Maybe a glass of wine will help me to decide.

The one good thing about being threatened with eviction from our class hub is that we have realised that there are many, many venues available for hire, in both Stroud and Stonehouse. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.