and now for something completely different

Today's photoshoot - Gamelan at the inauguration of the new Indonesian Embassy in London. Sarah has played with this group - called Siswa Sukra for a while and they are about to go on tour in Indonesia, which is very exciting. I was thrilled to be able to join them tonight (more thrilled than Boris Johnson apparently, who had to decline his invitation as he was at a banquet with the King of Spain).

I travelled down from Dumfries by train and all went well until Crewe, when everyone was ordered off the train because of a signal failure. We were to get on another train to Birmingham New St, walk to Moor St and catch a third train to London. In the end it was only one extra train, but stuffed bursting with standing passengers. We arrived in London 11/2 hours late and I had only 20 minutes to get to the Embassy. The entrance to the Underground was blocked by people so I decided to blow my Delay Repay money on a taxi. 

Arriving at the embassy, I must have looked hot, bothered and hungry, and I had a lot of luggage (mostly stuff sarah had asked me to bring for her trip to Indonesia). But I said to the nice lady at the door that I was with Siswa Sukra and she waved me past all the suited dignitaries and into the room where the music had started for the arrival of the guests. I was to sit behind the players - a perfect vantage point.

Here is Callum playing the Big Gong (the Gong Areng). I got to play it in a piece later on - the highlight of my evening :-)

There were amazing dancers, and a group of women who played pop tunes on instruments made out of bamboo. There were speeches - and there was food, lots and lot of it.

What an evening...Thank you Siswa Sukra for letting me be "with the band"! See extra for the whole gamelan ensemble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.