KETS

Decided to go to the out of town shopping centre near Byker today. So I got the bus to Gateshead Metro and bought a Gold Card which gives me a years travel on the Metro for £12.  Then got the Metro to the shopping centre.  Bought some clothes in the M & S Outlet shop.  I like going there as you can get some real bargains.  Then I popped into Asda for a few bits of food shopping. 

I took my blip shot in Asda.  Thought this sign was unusual.  Anyone know what KETS are?.  I guess if you are from up here in the North East then you will know. But for anyone else I can tell you that Kets means sweets - childrens sweets to be more precise.  Apparently for National Dialect Day last October Asda changed a few of the signs in three local stores to reflect the local dialect.  They switched  ‘bairn’ for ‘baby’, ‘netty’ for toilet and ' kets’ for sweets. They were supposed to be changed just for the weekend but " Kets " was still in evidence today.

On 14th July 1981 my Mam Connie passed away at the young age of 56.  I have been thinking about her a lot today.  Such a shame she never knew Becky and Neil.  In fact they grew up without either Grandma.  Luckily they did have two Grandads but its not the same as having a Grandma to spoil you is it.  She would have loved them so much. I have put a photo in Extras.  She was 50 when that photo was taken.

Steps today - 9,465

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.