Black headed gull?

I had to post a letter before 11.30am so I headed down to the village to get that out of the way before getting the bus to Swalwell.  Did some shopping in Poundstretcher and Lidl.

While I was in the vicinity I popped  down to the River Derwent.  It was lovely down there - so quiet and tranquil with no-one else around. Even though the A1 passes by the side of the river there are so many trees and bushes you can't hear any traffic noise.  I think the bird in my blip shot might be a black headed gull - but I may be wrong.  I have added a couple of Extras .... one of the river and one of the bridge I was standing on when I took my shots.  The bridge is known locally as The Hikey Bridge and is a suspension bridge dating from 1902. 

I got home in good time to sit outside in the sunshine for a while before settling down to watch the footie.  Belgium deserved to win - they were far better than England - especially in the first half.  But of course England did way better than anyone expected them to and the team should be proud of their achievement.

After the match I did some ironing - well a lot of ironing actually.

On this day in 1981 my Mam Connie passed away at the young age of only 56.  Taken far too soon.  I have put a photo in my Extras.  It was taken when she and I had a fantastic holiday together in Malta in 1974.  We had so much fun - even though it was so hot we were seeking shade constantly  -  it was our first holiday abroad and we weren't used to temps over 100 degrees. 

Steps today - 10,447

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.