Knitted flowers

Bit of a quiet day today.  Walked down to the village.  Didn't really need any shopping but wanted to get a few steps under my belt.  The weather was warm but not sunny. The sun did come out later on in the day though.

Took my blip shot in the village.  In years gone by these hanging baskets used to be filled with real flowers but due to budget cuts the Council no longer fill the beds, planters or baskets with flowers. A voluntary group has taken over the planting and usually  fill these baskets with plants however this year these knitted flowers have appeared. They were knitted by a few local groups including the WI and a lady from the WI put them into the baskets.  Well done to all concerned.  Thanks to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

As I was walking home through the allotments I stopped to talk to one of the allotment holders. The main reason to speak to him was to ask him about some items of scrap metal which have just appeared outside his allotment ( which isn't far from my house ).  I wondered if it had been dumped there.  He said that he put it there himself.  Its metal which he has collected from around his allotment and he is waiting for the scrap man to come and collect it.  I was amazed at the amount he had collected.  We spent around half an hour chatting about this and that.  I have added a shot of the scrap metal to my Extras.

My brother phoned this evening - the one with Aspergers.  As usual he talked and talked and talked.  We discussed ... Trump ( he's very fond of slagging off Mr Trump ), food - he loves to cook and uses a sous vide machine, our childhood, his dog Tara who died a few years ago ( and who is buried in my garden) ......... and he also enquired what I wanted him to buy me for a Christmas present.  Rather an unusual request in July.  Especially as we haven't exchanged Christmas presents for many years.  I used to buy him loads of gifts but could never give them to him as he wouldn't let me into his house or meet up so I just gave up on that.  AND we have finally set a date to meet up.  Of course on previous occasions when we were supposed to meet he has cancelled at short notice with some feeble excuse so I'm not getting too excited. 

Steps today - 7,888

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.