Scrapbook Saturday/Silly Saturday: Hiding Place

It's a while since I did one of my "Scrapbook Saturday" blips so I thought I'd do one today. I chose "A Hiding Place" - actually on the last page of my scrapbook, but not the last one I have to do as there's still a lot of gaps.

Anyway I chose this hiding place - a little cubby-hole cupboard under our stairs. It's there where I hide our stash of booze. And tools. And piles of old clothes: one set for gardening, one for decorating - oh and a REALLY mucky set for when I have to crawl around under the floor because I've been a bad boy in order to reroute a cable or a pipe. And spare light bulbs. And loads of old carrier bags (well you have to pay for new ones now, don't you?). And...I could go on. In fact I had to remove lots of the stored items so that you could see some of the booze hiding at the back.

Why is it silly? Well, for a start you have to be a hobbit to get in - as you can see from the strategically-placed ruler, the door's only about 26 inches high. And it may seem silly to hide the booze behind all the junk, making it even harder to get at! In fact that's not so silly in itself, as we're really silly to have a stash of booze and yet not to drink much of it. Several of the bottles were gifts (not bribes, honest!) from grateful patients when I was working - but I retired almost 4 years ago and the whisky & gin are virtually untouched - what a silly waste! (Don't worry though, it'll be given away eventually.) We've nothing against having a drink, you understand - just that we prefer a glass of wine now & then, or a beer - so most of that is kept in a more accessible place. And the Bubbly is kept for special occasions so that stays in the hidden stash...:-))

Many thanks again to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.