Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

My butterfly summer - Skipper

Yes, the butterflies just keep on coming.  And in such abundance I am now on a mission to see how many species I can blip by autumn.  I have a garden the size of a CD cover.  I spent much of the day tidying it in the company of a brimstone, a large white and a peskily persistent red admiral, plus the pair of meadow browns who have taken up residence on my lavender together with a full complement of bees - bumble, humble and honey – who are also using the bee log.  I notice that several of its chambers now have carefully cut leaf doors blocking their entrances.
 
The only time I went out today was for a short walk down the lane with the camera.  That is where I found this skipper on a convolvulus flower.  I believe it’s a small (actually Essex, I'm now told) skipper (thymelicus sylvestris) and, from the thin dark stripe through its upper wings, that it’s a male.  However, as always, do let me know if you think otherwise.
 
And, gracious, I seem to have hit another blip milestone with this tiny creature – 1,500 blips.  It doesn’t seem possible and certainly wouldn’t have been without the friendship and support from my lovely fellow blippers.  I have learned a lot from you and gained so much in so many ways and all I can say in return is a huge thank you.  I can’t imagine what life would be like right now without you, but it would certainly be poorer.
 
A fab week to you all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.