Hiked

A long day. I was on the 9:10 train to Pitlochry and got back just before 18:00.

It was great. Warm sunshine and a good breeze so that I didn’t get too hot walking. A lot of the 16km is on the flat, but there is a short but tough uphill section at the start. The landscape takes in typical upland moors, farmland, a deep wooded gorge and then Loch Faskally. Plenty variety.   

With it being peak tourist season Pitlochry was a madhouse, but none of them - or very few - were heading into the hills. Fish & chips and ice cream seemed to be their main interests.

I had almost an hour to wait for my train home, and spent part of it in a tiny coffee shop which has the best coffee I’ve had in ages and wonderful pȃtisserie. MacKenzie's, if you’re passing and need refreshed. 

I’m not thrilled with any of the photos I took. The Blip is the River Garry at the Pass of Killiecrankie, which you walk through in the second half of the hike. My shot doesn’t do justice to its beauty.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.