Tootsie and Tillie's new chicks!

Dear Diary,

Tootsie and Tillie brought their new chicks to visit; sweet little puff balls.  They were in quite a hurry as they rushed across the drive so I barely had time to grab my camera and capture this.  Not the best of images but it will have to do.  The chicks don't look too old but they were keeping right up with their moms, except one which kept lagging behind.  Mom would rush back and "encourage" him to get a move on...very cute to watch.  I was worried about them crossing the road but they made it fine.

I counted 6 or 7 chicks, it was hard to see.  I just hope they make it through the summer.  There are a lot of predators around here so the moms will have to be vigilant.  I know that adult turkeys roost in trees at night but I don't think the chicks would be able to do that yet.

Woke up to a power outage this morning.  We did have a storm pass through so maybe it was a lightning strike.  The generator is working so I am able to post this.  Sigh...always something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.