A GREAT DAY

As the weather is so lovely at the moment I fancied going to the seaside.  So last night I got in touch with Pat ( Shygirl73 )  to quickly arrange a blipmeet for today.  I set off from home just after 9.30am (so I could use my pensioners bus pass) and got the bus to Newcastle.  Then the Metro to Monkseaton where I met up with Pat.  We had a coffee in the station cafe.  Then set off walking along the seafront.

We walked part of the way on the path and part on the beach.  Pat even had a plodge in The North Sea.( photo in collage )  As we walked we collected a few shells and pieces of sea glass. We stopped for another break at the Rendezvous Cafe.  Pat had a coffee and a lovely warm cheese scone. I decided to treat myself to a 99.  As we were eating inside I couldn't have a cone so I had a dish of ice cream with a flake and a couple of wafers.  It was delicious.

We walked across the causeway to St Mary's Lighthouse ( photo in collage  taken by a kind passer by) and tickets were bought to go to the top.  The 187 steps are a killer.  My knees are not very happy this evening. Well worth it though for the lovely views. ( See Pat half way up the stairs in my collage.)

Also making the journey to the top were a group of Americans.  They were members of a Lighthouse Appreciation Society and had been travelling down the coast from Scotland visiting different lighthouses.  They have a free day tomorrow ( well free of lighthouses ) and they are visiting Hadrians Wall.  I was very impressed by one lady in the group who was wearing a wonderful lighthouse themed outfit.  She was kind enough to let me take her photo.  You can see her in my collage.

When we came out of the lighthouse we went to look out over the rocks and one of the " rangers " ( no idea what they are called really ) told us that there were seals coming in and were trying to get on the rocks.  Apparently they come on to the island when they need a rest and then they are off again.  It was really difficult trying to spot them as a tiny little head would just keep popping up in the water and then disappearing. I zoomed in and just kept scanning around until I was finally rewarded with a glimpse.  See my shot in the collage.

I have put a  shot of a cormorant in my Extras

We got the bus nearby and Pat got off at her stop near the Ice Rink and I carried on to Newcastle.  The bus took ages and the traffic was bad as we neared town.  I did a bit of shopping in Tesco before getting my bus back home.

Then....... as if I wasn't tired enough ....... I mowed the grass in the cat enclosure and trimmed a few of the bushes in there as they were getting overgrown.

Then I did cooked my tea - sea bass and salad.  Finally sat down on the sofa at 7.30pm.  Whew!.

So I have had a busy and enjoyable day.  So glad I met up with Pat too as we had fun together.  Thanks Pat.  Hope you aren't too worn out.

****** Becky and Mike were supposed to fly home from Greece early this morning but due to some problems at Gatwick their flight was cancelled.  So they were taken by bus to a hotel miles away from where they had been staying and are spending the night there --- all inclusive... and coming home tomorrow.  They seem quite happy to have the extra time there.

Steps today - 17,005

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.