Stuck

Mary, Caroline and I went to Stanage today.... and whose idea was that as I was tired before we began and I was the only one who'd been to work because they're both teachers? 

First Caroline lead Black Hawk Traverse Left, a route I'd lead a couple of months ago, although I'd traversed left a bit lower down than Caroline did today, so I wonder which is the correct route?  There is a variation (called Burgess's Variation) which seems to include a two-fingered undercling hold, and that was certainly used today because it was the only hold available on a very delicate traverse, so I don't know.

Then I decided to lead Black Hawk Hell Crack (pictured), it looked ok from the ground and the guidebook said it was low in the grade, and it was ok until the crux move.  Try as I might, and I did try, I just couldn't move up, not helped at all by my wrist being weak and my fingers still tired from Sunday!  I finally admitted defeat and was lowered down.

Caroline went up and although she struggled too, eventually she managed it and finished the route.  It was rather annoying because that move is quite near the top, but well done to her!

I got back home at 8pm and it's probably just as well that I'd missed the start of the Tuesday evening walk. 

21/7 - two extras added that Mary's just sent me :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.